Sidelines and Spotlights, I Won’t Be Able To Do it All

Jennifer Renee Watson

Sometimes we don't know what is next so

My words hung in the air as hot tears wrecked my fresh makeup. I didn’t care to salvage what was left of it.

I’m pretty sure I looked like a woman counting the costs, empting out pockets with holes in them, and short on change.

“I’m afraid I won’t be able to do it all.”

I am a woman divided by multiple roles asking of my time, some I’ll get to, some will have to wait. Each day I choose which things will hold the best pieces of my attention and time.

I have been a waster of time and heart space, but I learned deep and profound things from it.

I noticed the deer in the headlights look on my husbands face, slow blinks as he scanned his headspace for the right words. Nope, he’s got nothing, so he sits there and lets me ugly cry. Smart man.

I…

View original post 630 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

