Church, what if we think _______ diagnosis isn’t a real thing?

Church4EveryChild

shutterstock_149729270May 3rd-9th is Children’s Mental Health Week. Today, Shannon speaks out the propensity of others to question the legitimacy of legitimacy of a child’s psychiatric diagnosis.

Everybody has that nowadays.

Isn’t that just a checklist thing? I mean, it’s not a real diagnosis, right?

That’s just an excuse for bad behaviors.

That’s so overdiagnosed.

When I was growing up, we didn’t label kids like that, and we did just fine.

I hear these comments often, usually about ADHD,  Asperger’s Disorder and childhood trauma. I’d love to address them, first as a special educator, then as a ministry leader, and finally as a mom.

In this post, I’m going to focus specifically on ADHD, but please keep in mind that these are CERTAINLY not limited to that areas of diagnosis. In my city and at my church, I’ve noticed that people only make such comments with boldness about ADHD. When they…

View original post 807 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

