When There’s A Great Big, Sticky, Smelly Mess That Can’t Be Wished Away

Angela Nazworth

 There is

As I headed out of the kitchen, trash bag in hand, my load suddenly felt lighter and a wet, sticky sensation swept across my feet. Jabs of pain radiated down my thigh.

Earlier that day I had hastily tossed a broken wire hanger into the trash can. I didn’t think it was a big deal, but apparently the metal stick landed in just the right spot to tear open the bag and simultaneously gash my leg.

I stood surveying the stinky mess that blanketed the floor I had scrubbed two hours prior. What was once pristine was covered in filth.

In that moment I did a lot of futile wishing.

I wished that I had never thrown that hanger away.

I wished that my leg wasn’t throbbing.

I even wished that my name was Carol Brady and that my trusty housekeeper named Alice would clean up the mess for me.

But…

View original post 570 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

