I had no plan…Jeff Davidson

Church4EveryChild

Image00008

We’re honored Jeff Davidson graciously agreed to take over the blog for Autism Awareness Day 2015. Jeff is an accomplished pastor, disability ministry leader…and the father of a 15 year old son with autism. Here’s Jeff…

I had no plan. No plan at all.

I had always prided myself on the belief that given time, I could solve any problem, fix any circumstance, and overcome any obstacle.

Now I had no idea what to do.

I couldn’t even bring myself to say the word out loud. If I didn’t say it out loud, perhaps over time it would go away.

As long as I didn’t say the word “autism,” then my son really didn’t have it.

I nuanced it for years.

“He’ll outgrow it. He’s just a little delayed.”

“He’s on the spectrum, but he’s not autistic.”

“He has sensory processing issues, but he’s not autistic.”

I was an ostrich-dad…

View original post 818 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

