Shedding light on the darkness of Depression.

Green Herb.

My interest in studying depression started when I had a personal experience with Seasonal Affective Disorder (S.A.D); ‘A mood disorder characterised by depression that occurs at the same time every year’. Read  Mayo Clinic’s definition for a deeper explanation. This taste of a mental illness gave me the compassion and drive to help those who has similar experiences on a more permanent level.

I started off by googling how I could help myself, then put into practice introducing certain foods into my diet, increasing my exposure to direct sunlight, exercising, journaling, and art therapy. It was extraordinary how much I could improve my body and mind, and was excited to tell other’s that they could do the same.

One of the greatest comforts when all you feel is alone in your sickness is to know that you’re not. Social media has made it easy for those affect by mental illnesses to connect and inspire each other…

View original post 223 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

