You Don’t Have to Be a Superhero

Angela Nazworth

_BeautyofGrace_pins38

As soon as the blue mask slides down his forehead and covers three-quarters of his face, my son disappears and before me stands Batman. Batman eats my son’s food, cuddles my son’s favorite blanket and plays with my son’s sister. But he will not answer when my son’s name is called. Or if he does respond, it is only to remind me that he is Batman.

I play along. But he doesn’t fool me.

He’s my boy.

It takes just one clock’s hand tick for me to pick him out in a crowd. I know every single cowlick perched in his tousled blond head. I know when his aqua-marine eyes hold mischief, delight or a mixture of each. I know his laugh, his gait, and his voice (even when it is disguised).

He can call himself Batman. He can fight bad guys and save damsels like Batman. He can stand…

View original post 594 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to You Don’t Have to Be a Superhero

  1. angela says:

    Thank you for sharing, my friend.

    Like

Leave a Reply

